top of page

Jason Pan | The College Student's Guide to Studying Abroad

About Jason

Jason is a senior at Chapman University, studying International Business and minoring in Advertising. In his spare time, he enjoys basketball, travelling, making travel videos, and talking about the entertainment industry.

In the spring of 2017, Jason went to Rome, Italy. Over a course of 5 months, Jason experienced what it was like to study abroad while immersing himself in the rich Italian culture. Here, Jason recounts his first steps into his study abroad journey, and gives a brief overview of what to expect when studying abroad.

The College Student's Guide to Studying Abroad

36,000 feet in the air, traveling alone to a new country, and not knowing a single word of the language. Studying abroad can be either the most frightening or amazing experience for a college student. Let me tell you as a student who just came back from a semester in Italy– if you go into it with the right mindset, the possibilities are endless. Here are stories from my adventures in Rome, Italy; and my recommendations for getting the most out of time studying abroad.

I’d first like to thank Chapman University and its Rho Chi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi, without which I would have never been able to study abroad in Italy. Similar to all the best decisions I’ve made in the last four years, Alpha Kappa Psi has played a huge role in my motivation to study abroad. I’d like to thank alumni, Michael Chan ’16, for his never-ending stories about his time in Florence, Italy, which planted the idea of the vast benefits studying abroad has to offer.

So! How does one study abroad? First of all, don’t worry. It’s okay not to have the answer. When I was in your shoes, I didn’t have the slightest clue to what it entailed. I knew about the study abroad office and the programs with funky initials, but the process of applying to a school overseas involved much more than that. Here are 7 easy bullet points that will give you the simplest roadmap to figuring out the start of your study abroad journey.

1. Go to the Study Abroad office and set up a meeting with Jodi Hicks. She is the program advisor and equivalent to Yoda.

2. Learn which programs will count towards your major.

3. Don't overload yourself with classes. Yes, you're there to learn BUT you are also there to experience a new culture! (Use that argument with your parents. Works every time.)

4. Paperwork: start the painful process of the online pre-study abroad class and getting a Visa (WARNING! Step four is an absolute necessity).

5. Do not go abroad with your best friends."MAY BE CONTROVERSIAL". This whole experience is about pushing you out of your comfort zone and trying new things so that you can grow as a human being. That won't be easy if your best homies are by your side, sorry friends.

6. Start your journey with an open mind! Yes, having a little fear is good, but don't let it stop you from living! In the wise words of Lil Uzi Vert... "Now I Do What I Want". Go out there, eat, travel, learn, form new relationships; because at the end of the day, regret is the worst feeling in the world.

7. Document, document, document! 11 times out of 10 a semester abroad will make your Instagram STRAIGHT FIRE!

In all seriousness, studying abroad is my favorite memory from my time at Chapman. When you go to a small school, you see the same people multiple times a day, and this makes it easy to fall into a routine. Spending a semester in Rome gave me the opportunity to venture out into a new environment where anything and everything seemed exciting and new. I created new friendships, and even gained a lifelong mentor from my internship with CBG Medialab. Like I said earlier, if you go into it with an open mind, you’ll be amazed at the opportunities that present themselves.

Imagine it now– sailing across Amalfi Coast, savoring the most amazing pasta in the world, watching the sunrise in Barcelona, exploring Amsterdam, walking through the coliseum, and living life in the Eternal City. Doesn’t sound too bad to me.

Now, if any of what I just said sounds interesting to you, you need to watch my study abroad video below. I promise you’ll enjoy it!

bottom of page